Its Spring. First 2014 Antique show

finally proof that the long winter is over. Our first local flea market of 2014. Maybe not one of my best days, but definitely not my worst either. We had some fun, some sun, some rain, and just good old spring weather.

My first find is my favorite. As you may know, I’ve started a healthy admiration for Sargent bench planes. My goal was to obtain a #400 series in every size type 3 or older. This was the last one I needed to complete that set. A beautiful type 2 #424. All period correct as well, including the cutter.

next up is an item that has nothing to do with hand planes. A fully functional hand operated drill press. I’ve wanted one of these for a while, but they usually tote a price tag in the hundreds, so its never fit the bill. When the vendor said $50, I didn’t even dicker.

Finally a reasonably priced #203.

A Stanley type 3 #35. This has seen better days, and will never be a user again, but after showing the vendor the shortcomings of the old girl, we came to a reasonable offer.

And since I’ve completed the #400 bench plane series, and these were there, well priced and in decent shape, we might as well head down a new road with a new set of goals. How about all Sargent Transitionals. Also, twisted lat or older.

A few others, a couple nice user #4’s, a restorable Simmons, and an Eagle label Stanley level that I’m pretty sure is made from oak.

A good day to be a “collector, restorer, and a typical rust hunter.”

One Response to Its Spring. First 2014 Antique show

  1. KsSlim says:

    You lucky dog. I spent 6 hrs. trudging thru a larger semi-annual market only to find a box of 8 “parts” planes, a type 11 Stanley 4, and a pristine Stanley 75 i’ve yet to type.
    Good part, only best part of a day “rustin” and only spent $35.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

