Infill Jack (well almost)

I’ve been working on this for 6 or 8 months. I’d do a little, loose interest, and set it back on the shelf. It sat so long I wound up using the frog, blade, cap iron and cap for another plane long since forgotten. The current frog has a broken top, so the lateral adjustment lever is gone. I will need to find 2. One for the nice #4 it came from and a replacement for this one.

The infill is made from ash. The front knob was a broken knob off a transitional. I had originally planned to turn a new knob, but that seemed to fit. The base is from a Stanley knock off #5.

The back infill is epoxied into the base. The front is just held on with the knob screw into the original hole.

The blade adjustment works as original.

Finish is walnut danish oil and shellac.

I’m not sure what provoked me to do it. I just wanted something a little different.

.

I tested it to see if I could get some decent shavings. It worked fairly well, but It needs a lateral adjuster for sure. I plan to camber the blade and make it back into a jack.

About Don
A tool nut, hand plane collector, restorer

2 Responses to Infill Jack (well almost)

  1. nate says:

    Looks really nice, I have an extra #5 I might have to do this with. The only downside is at least from the looks of it you lost the fine adjustment for the frog. Thanks for the brain food!!

Leave a Reply

