What will you ever do with that broom handle? A beader maybe?

This has been on my list for a long time. I have actually been hoping to pick up a Stanley #66 for a somewhat reasonable price (reasonable for me usually means cheap). With that not happening, the next step was to make one. I’ve seen a few shop made beaders, and they all work, but I decided to make mine slightly different.

First I grab a piece of broom handle I had left over.

WP_002805

Using the radial arm saw, I cut a flat spot to receive the cutter and holder pieces.

Next I found a piece of scrap steel. I got really lucky and found a piece the exact width I needed.

WP_002808

 

I cut it to length.

 

WP_002809

Cleaned up the edges.

WP_002810

 

and Drilled for the mounting bolts, which were countersunk in both the wood and metal.

 

WP_002812WP_002813

I then sat that aside and focused on the blades. I found the old hand saw in the worst shape, and decided to use that to make the cutters.

WP_002811

Using tin snips, I cut a piece the right size and headed to the vice.

WP_002814WP_002815

Some clean up on the DMT’s and good enough for a test run.

Next I found a piece of scrap oak. It the right size, so it will work. Drilled a hole for the dowel (ok, broom handle) and sanded to fit.

WP_002816

Yes sir, that what I was looking for.

WP_002817

Let take it for a test spin

WP_002819

 

Just a little rough, but as expected. I’ve still got some additional polishing to do on the blade, I knew that.

So let cut the fence piece, drill and tap for the retainer bolt.

 

WP_002820

WP_002821

 

WP_002822

 

WP_002824

WP_002823

So I don’t have any slip stone this small, so I wrapped some fine sandpaper around a screw driver of the right diameter.

WP_002825

which made it much better.

WP_002829

 

 

WP_002827WP_002822WP_002823WP_002824

I stopped by my local Home Depot to pick up a threaded knob, and of course they didn’t have any, so it’s a shorter eye bolt.

WP_002836

About Don
A tool nut, hand plane collector, restorer

4 Responses to What will you ever do with that broom handle? A beader maybe?

  1. eddieantley says:

    thanks very informative , great instructions ,and pic

  2. superdav721 says:

    Don that is the second time this week I have seen you do some crazy stuff with eyebolts.
    Nice tool you have built.
    What did that poor broom do to you?
    Great work Don.

  3. dw says:

    Dave, I stopped by my local Home Depot to pick up a threaded knob, and of course they didn’t have any, so it’s a shorter eye bolt. My wife wore the broom out. She sweeps our porch about 3 times a day. I was just giving it a second life.

  4. Tim Charles says:

    Awesome instructional entry.

Leave a Reply

