Ohio Tools #4 Restore

Finally a little shop time. A Ohio Tools #4

Before

After

My Ohio Tools Family shot A #4, #5, #6, #7

5 Responses to Ohio Tools #4 Restore

  1. james scott says:

    thanx for the pictures and the resourceful storage idea, I have an Ohio wood bench vice. I intend to put back in service in the near future. if anyone has any pictures it would be helpful.

  2. Dave says:

    Don your restoration is superb. Well done Don. Are they a good user? I love the wood bodied Ohio planes.
    I was in need of adding a few planes to my till. I wasn’t thrilled with having to build a grid. I borrowed your string method and it worked great.

  3. Dave, I’ve found if you put the string out the top of the strip, it help when hanging the planes.

  4. john f says:

    nice resto! I wouldn’t be surprised if the #7 has knob envy

  5. Matt says:

    I’m wondering if you might be able to help me with some plane questions? I recently bought what was supposed to be a Stanley Type 7 4 1/2, but after having it shipped to me, i’m not sure it’s a Stanley at all. The iron is Stanley and the Cap Lever is as well, but the rest is a bit of a mystery. A couple of people think the base is a Union, while others have suggested a Siegley and someone else suggested it’s an Ohio Tools plane. I’m not familiar with them and happen to come across your site. The frog is definitely not original and from the same maker, if i try to line up the slots in the frog with the screw holes in the base, one is centred and the other is off to one side. The lever has a twist in it which made me think it was a union, but now i see Ohio seemed to have similar levers as well. Of course the photos online didn’t show any of this and i made the mistake of not asking for more photos. The tote has also had an area carved out to allow for the lever to swing through, if it wasn’t cleaned out it would hit the top of the tote, so i’m not sure where it’s from. It’s pretty tall, it almost seems like it shouldn’t be on a plane with a raised bed where the tote mounts. The main reason why I didn’t think it’s a Stanley was that there’s no foundry marking on the base at all, nothing behind the frog and nothing under the tote. There’s also no patent dates or anything like that, but i don’t think those were there on earlier planes anyways. Is there a chance i could send you some photos for you to take a look at? Whatever the plane is, i’d like to find a proper frog and put it to use. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks very much!

Leave a Reply

