Tool Chest Redux. Now that’s better!

So in the last post (Part 1) we left with a almost finished tote.

The tote fits nicely in the front of the chest.

And sits nicely on top when in use.

The next thing I did was cut the saw till down so it will sit in the bottom, under the sliding shelves.

So now what’s left is to figure out what tools go in it. If you look into the tote, one of the small existing shelves fit perfect for a divider.

I also had a question on the bottom of the chest. I’m not sure what or how this came about, but it has a raised panel bottom, almost like the current bottom, was a top at one time.

And I found this inside.

but haven’t decided what to do with it. If it was complete, I’d reattach it.

The extension was made from poplar.
The cover and the top is red oak.
I believe the original is pine.
I was actually thinking of painting the outside, but I came to my senses. I know it doesn’t match, but it’s close enough for me.

4 Responses to Tool Chest Redux. Now that’s better!

  1. TobyC says:

    I really like what you’ve done there. The overhang seems a little strong for me, but it’s not for me! I think I would paint it, if it was mine.

    Toby

  2. Dave says:

    Don looking good as always. I beleve Smitty would be proud.

  3. Tim Charles says:

    Don that is looking great. I really need to do something with all my stuff, but I don’t go outside of my shop so I think I wouldn’t need a tool chest.

  4. A tool chest wasn’t my first choice either Tim, but the idea kind of grew on me. I’m still not sure if I’ll like it or not. Time will tell.

Leave a Reply

