Saving the #5!

Join the discussion at http://timetestedtools.forumchitchat.com/post/saving-the-5-7734964?pid=1289352214#post1289352214

I was looking through my broken plane pile for some inspiration. I came across a #5 with some issues.

I set it on the bench for a better look. There has to be a way to save it. A little comparison to a #604, and away we go.

A way to use the original thread even though I haven’t sprung for a tap and die yet.

I decided to leave it sandblasted and clear coated. I like the greyish “gunmetal” look”

— Master hand plane hoarder. – http://timetestedtools.com

About Don
A tool nut, hand plane collector, restorer

Leave a Reply

